The First Sting

pet society bees

Bees, it’s nothing personal, but you are kind of scary. You’re cute from afar, but up close, your fuzzy body looks like velcro and your stinger is like a hot knife.

The first time I ever got stung by a bee was when I was 12. I was at a swimming pool, playing Marco Polo with my friends when a bee landed on my finger. Before I knew it, it wedged its weapon into me. It felt like an electric shock… for hours.

The bee itself went to the side of the pool and died. According to Wikipedia, “when a honey bee stings a person, it cannot pull the barbed stinger back out. It leaves behind not only the stinger, but also part of its abdomen, and its digestive tract, plus muscles and nerves. This massive abdominal rupture is what kills the honey bee.” Blecch!

6 Responses to “The First Sting”


  1. 1 Lady PawPaw September 1, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Hi!I was never stung by a bee,but mosquitos are my worst nightmare!I’m sorry to hear you got stung by a bee but to me PS bees look cute.

    PS If you are Pet Society Forum member,you should definitely check this out : http://forum.playfish.com/showthread.php?t=1852225

  2. 2 brisa September 1, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I have only been stung once (knock on wood)! I was 5 years old, running around my grandma’s backyard barefoot. I must have stepped on the bee because I felt the stinging pain right between my toes. I ran in and my grandmother, a native ‘curandera’ (healer), sat my on the table, took my foot and stuck half a tomato between my toes. the pain was gone!

  3. 4 Will September 1, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    The first time I was stung by a bee, I was 5 years old. My friends wanted trap a bee but they failed and the bee stung me T__T
    It was horrible D;

    (Sorry if the English is bad ^^U)

  4. 5 Geo September 2, 2010 at 9:51 am

    Well, I’ve never got stung by a bee or bitten by a mosquito. But i’ve been bitten by BUGS before. It bit me so many times on my foot( not the leg, at the BOTTOM of the foot ) and I was scratching my foot the whole morning! The bites swelled up and that was even worse. I couldn’t put my foot on the floor!

  5. 6 cece January 2, 2011 at 12:58 am

    lol you posted this a day before i joined pet society


Leave a Reply

Tell Your Story

Got a great Pet Society story of your own? Post story and images on facebook.com/petsocietyanonymous. The best stories will be posted on this blog!

Pet Society Anonymous on Facebook

Creative Commons License
Pet Society Anonymous by Soyon Im is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at petsocietyanonymous.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://petsocietyanonymous.com.

Blog Stats

  • 2,107,709 visits

