The Power of Pink in Pet Society and Beyond

pet society enchanted forest

Pink used to be my favorite color when I was like, seven. It probably came from my mother’s influence. She liked feminine, flirty things and dressed me up in all shades of pink—creamy pink, rosy pink, hot neon pink. The carpet in my childhood room was a cotton candy pink.

By the time I was in college, I had abandoned pink in favor of dark, moody colors. Every time I visited my mother, I couldn’t stand going into my old room, let alone sleep in it. The carpet had taken on a grayish tone, and reminded me of a pig’s intestines. I didn’t wear pink for many, many years.

Now, I am finding myself slowly returning to pink. This past winter, I kept warm in a fuschia cap (see the About page). In the spring, I bought a fitted shirt from Banana Republic in a very light pink. It’s the standard white business shirt, except it’s not white. Banana calls the color “Blissful Lavendar.” It’s barely pink; it whispers pink.

I love this. It’s become my go-to shirt for days when I have an important meeting and I need to impress. I want to buy six more of these and wear them every day… that’s how much I love this shirt.

My pet Sushi, however, still reflects my teenage rebellion stage. He looks best in blue or black. He is not built for pink. He hates pink and thinks these new items he dug out of the Enchanted Forest make him look like a third-rate drag queen trying to be Marie Antoinette. And he is so above that. He deserves better.

13 Responses to “The Power of Pink in Pet Society and Beyond”


  1. 1 Pet Society Mystery June 26, 2010 at 2:28 am

    maybe you can change the wig color

  2. 3 Mödö June 26, 2010 at 3:01 am

    Trimming Sushi’s eyebrow might help him look alot better in those fittings.

  3. 4 Cookie June 26, 2010 at 5:26 am

    hehe 🙂 School dropout… 🙂 lol!

  4. 5 leslie (pinkie) June 26, 2010 at 6:18 am

    I love the way you write! This is a great sentence:

    He hates pink and thinks these new items he dug out of the Enchanted Forest make him look like a third-rate drag queen trying to be Marie Antoinette.

  5. 6 Geo June 26, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Haha! nice story!

  6. 7 Kyra's mommy June 26, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Kyra just visited Sushi and i was very surprised for Sushi’s looks!! he looks so weird!! lol

  7. 8 Deanna June 26, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    I agree dear, Sushi is looking quite strange. The Frenchie (Grease) look is just not cutting it for poor Sushi. Quite frankly, he just looks plain miserable in a pink wig. Jossie thought she had stumbled in on Sushie’s flamboyant grandmother and was ready to make a hasty retreat out the door when she heard Sushi calling her back to collect her coins. Truthfully, we both had a good laugh at poor Sushie’s expense…sorry Sushi!

    Deanna and Jossie

  8. 9 Sapphire Star June 27, 2010 at 6:50 am

    Guess you should dye your hair.Pink is one of my absolute favourite colours(Let alone golden,yellow,green,red,silver and purple.I agreed with you that you should dye Sushi’s hair.Brown matches Charmmy quite a lot!Stephanie told me so.I have quite a lot of pink stuff.But hey,they don’t look quite out of style too!If you would like to prchase a music box,it is cheaper than you thought it would.Just go to GosuMall,click on New Year,then look for,Princess Music Box.Love how ya write it!ood thing I am only 10.:)

  9. 10 Nightsouled June 27, 2010 at 8:49 am

    O.o The items are quite disappointing…good thing I didn’t spend anything on it…yet…

  10. 11 Dani C June 28, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Deanna, love your notion of “Sushi’s flamboyant grandmother”! Tizzy and I stumbled upon a strange pet in Sushi’s house just before Father’s Day, and I saw a strong family resemblance. More tales of extended family are fine with me.

  11. 12 Pet Society Girl June 28, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    I thought I had the same shirt as you, but they I checked my closet. Mine’s from Ann Taylor, but it’s practically the same.

  12. 13 molly October 15, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    red is more cute and hot ~!!1!


Leave a Reply

Tell Your Story

Got a great Pet Society story of your own? Post story and images on facebook.com/petsocietyanonymous. The best stories will be posted on this blog!

Pet Society Anonymous on Facebook

Posts with the Mosts

Creative Commons License
Pet Society Anonymous by Soyon Im is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at petsocietyanonymous.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://petsocietyanonymous.com.

Blog Stats

  • 2,107,859 visits

