Peter Pan “Limited Edition” Statue

peter pan statue in pet society

Playfish seems to have a slightly skewed idea of the term “limited edition.” Things that are in limited edition, such as a Leroy Neiman print, or a Bentley Brooklands, are pretty rare with under 500 copies. But there are 250,000 Peter Pan Statues in Pet Society.

More surprising than this high quantity is that so many people have already snapped these up. The picture above was taken less than two hours after the statue’s release. Let’s do the math:

250,000 – 241,407 = 8593 statues sold

Given the astronomical price tag of this statue (16,000 coins), we can assume that most of these statues were bought with the help of the Bank, where you can get 18,000 coins instantly for $20 U.S.

Let’s do the math again. Let’s assume that out of the 8593 statues sold, half of these were bought with the cash coins. (A very conservative estimate; I suspect that the actual number is closer to 8000.)

8593 / 2 = 4296 bought the $20 bag of coins
4296 x $20 = $85,920

$85,920 in less than two hours! And this is a low estimate. If 8000 people went to the bank to purchase this “limited edition” statue, Playfish made $160,000 in that same time frame.

If every statue is bought through the bank, Playfish will make $5 million off this item. The theme this week may be “never grow up,” complete with Tinkerbell outfits and Neverland scenes, but some of us have clearly grown up and grown shrewd.

27 Responses to “Peter Pan “Limited Edition” Statue”


  1. 1 Andpet April 26, 2010 at 2:07 am

    I bought it without buying coins.

  2. 2 Lorelie April 26, 2010 at 2:32 am

    playfish is probably basing the amount of statues off how many ppl play pet society, but really it is dumb to count it as a rare item when almost a quarter of Pet society players will own this statue

  3. 3 Gena April 26, 2010 at 3:37 am

    Another site had the preview of this item before it was even available to buy and the number was already well below 250,000, so something weird was going on from the beginning (they suggested hackers). I’m not going to waste my hard-earned coins on it.

  4. 4 diah April 26, 2010 at 3:43 am

    i like the last line 😀

  5. 5 iliekpancakes April 26, 2010 at 4:04 am

    I def will not be spending my coins on that thing… The japanese window was one thing–this statue isn’t even animated/interactive!

  6. 6 anonymous April 26, 2010 at 4:36 am

    What are you talking about? Many people have a lot more than 16k. For example, I have 170k. Well, watever. Love the site!

  7. 7 steffi-san April 26, 2010 at 5:57 am

    I bought it too. I know, I thought it was ridiculously expensive too. But I just love Peter Pan. 🙂

    I do have a lot of coins saved because I have not been buying much lately. I didn’t like most of last week’s items.

  8. 8 Mooshi XD April 26, 2010 at 6:36 am

    16,000 it’s too much.. and I’ll never give a game a real money.. not a internet one anyways..
    I think it’s bad to make an item for only 250,000 players. It’s make people sad and they leave the game.. :\

  9. 9 Petsociety pals April 26, 2010 at 7:04 am

    MMM that statue is real not that appealing that i would go buy coins……
    Bedides If i was allowed to buy coins i would rather buy PFC and you cant use that statue in the forum to trade either it is a complete waste of the coins i have worked in earning

  10. 10 Petsociety pals April 26, 2010 at 7:05 am

    I dont think many ppl actually want to buy that I am not gonna buy that and ppl wont get sad just like that and leave

  11. 11 ray(: April 26, 2010 at 8:14 am

    I bought it too! but is expensive): I love it!

  12. 12 Robyn April 26, 2010 at 9:55 am

    It’s not that bad, I have never paid for playfish coins yet I could still buy this statue (I won’t cos it’s ugly)
    I don’t even have that many friends & don’t bother visiting them everyday but still usually save 10-15k each week. Lots of players could buy the statue without real money.

  13. 13 burgerfood April 26, 2010 at 10:46 am

    petsociety count is something like 10 million so this isnt really that many.Im also pretty sure people are jsut buying it because its rare and wouldnt buy it for 16,000 if it was normal

  14. 14 MayuThePetSocietyCoolCat April 26, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Well, I bought it without buying the coins…but I do get what you mean about it not really being a limited item…looks pretty nice in my garden though 🙂

  15. 15 anonymous April 26, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    I think you are over-thinking things. People would not possibly waste that much. I have a lot of real life friends who play this game and they are like not signing into the game like almost a year now.

  16. 16 Mommy Lisa April 26, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    I have about 50k in coins…but I think most of the statues are ugly…like this one.

  17. 17 Lilac April 26, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    16k coins isn’t a ridiculous amount. I had 50k coins (all earned, not bought) until Japanese week. But I’m not going to buy the statue anyways, because I think it’s ugly and not worth 16k coins. The only thing it would be good for is trading to earn paw points and level up, but I’ve got enough big ticket items for that anyways.

  18. 18 PLEASE LISTEN2 ME April 26, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    LOOK IN THE CLOTHES STORE THEN GO INTO ACCESARIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    THEIRS THE VOLCANO OUTFIT AND IT SPURTS LAVA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
    PLEASE POST THIS ON YOUR BLOG, BCUZ MANY PEOPLE DONT KNOW ABOUT IT!!!

  19. 20 Lorelie April 26, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    if i paid reel money or earned 16k i would go but then i stop and and think “hmmmm, i culd buy that and that” and id be stuck think that 4 quite a while

  20. 21 Sissy April 26, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    I want to buy it since I’m a hoarder, but I only make 3500 a day and that would take me 5 days to get it and by then they will probably be gone.

  21. 22 Kimi April 26, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    I can afford it but A) it’s ugly and B) I have nowhere to put it so I won’t be purchasing it lol. I hope the next collectible item is cuter .. and cheaper! 😉

  22. 23 yellojellow April 30, 2010 at 2:15 am

    i bought the statue without buying the coins but wasted A LOT of money on it…

  23. 24 Ray June 8, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I bought the statue without buying coins. I’ve never paid Playfish except once, in which I bought 12 Playfish cash from my mobile.


  1. 1 Pet Society Pics of the Week – 08.5.2010 « Pet Society Anonymous Trackback on May 9, 2010 at 8:07 am
  2. 2 Crowdsourcing for New Game Features « Pet Society Anonymous Trackback on May 31, 2010 at 8:54 pm
  3. 3 The Playfish Banker of Pet Society: Live from London | yvd.com blog Trackback on June 1, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Tell Your Story

Got a great Pet Society story of your own? Post story and images on facebook.com/petsocietyanonymous. The best stories will be posted on this blog!

Pet Society Anonymous on Facebook

Posts with the Mosts

Creative Commons License
Pet Society Anonymous by Soyon Im is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at petsocietyanonymous.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://petsocietyanonymous.com.

Blog Stats

  • 2,107,583 visits

