Pet Society Diaries Go Public

pet society diary

A few weeks ago, Pet Society introduced a diary feature that told us all sorts of information about our pets. Today, those diaries became public, open to anyone in your Pet Society network.

This latest development strikes me as being a real violation of privacy, moreso than anything that Facebook has ever done. For all the criticism that Facebook receives, the site does allow users to control how much or how little of their information to display. Among the many options, there are ways to keep photos private, prevent random people from adding you as friends, hide your activities on the site and keep your game playing to yourself. But the new Pet Society diary totally blows that cover by showing how many times you’ve logged into the game.

I e-mailed a high-level Playfish staff member earlier today and asked him what was behind the company’s decision. I haven’t heard a response yet. In the meantime, I visited the guy’s pet to take a peek at his diary (pictured above). I was going to publish Nelson’s diary, just so Playfish would get a taste of its own medicine, but I’m going to play nice. After all, this is Pet Society Anonymous. Unless people indicate they want their names blasted into the cloud, I keep everyone to first names only or assign pseudonyms.

So instead of showing Nelson’s diary without the owner’s permission, I’ll show you Sushi’s diary. When the diary was first released three weeks ago, I had crossed out all the embarrassing parts. But most of my network has seen my diary today, and hell, I feel naked. So here it is…Ta-da!!!

pet society open diary

1418 log-ins! Is this pathetic or what? No matter how bubbly or smart I may try to appear on the Internet, the truth is out: I am a game addict and I have no social life except for visiting imaginary animals.

As for Sushi and Nelson… well, after reading each other’s diaries, they felt a bit closer to each other and decided to take the next step in their relationship.

Yet more proof that my pet has a better social life than I do.

pets sleeping together in pet society

54 Responses to “Pet Society Diaries Go Public”


  1. 1 Julie Anne April 16, 2010 at 5:52 am

    trust me thats nothing… I have visited Lily in the three thousands.. I posted it a while back… lol

  2. 2 Bob April 16, 2010 at 5:56 am

    This is a really disturbing development. I was pretty surprised when I saw it earlier today.. how embarrassing. And especially unreliable seeing as many of us trade and so we log in and send gifts an inordinate amount because of such trading. Anyway.. if your stats make your pathetic.. I can’t even imagine what that makes me. :/

  3. 3 Noor April 16, 2010 at 5:59 am

    Hi!
    Haha – dont worry about people seeing your diary. Just use the excuse that you had to keep all the other Pet Society Addicts uptaded with the blog… And what can you do about the wrong gender? My pet is female but the diary calls her male [She is very offended] Haha. If anyone can help, please tell me!

    – Thanks!

  4. 4 Linda - Zak's "Mom" April 16, 2010 at 6:09 am

    I do not think having access to others’ diaries will be a “big deal”. The only negative I can see is that some people (the nosy ones) may think the stats indicate a trader or a second account. Who CARES!!??!! Playfish will deal with them or not – don’t get your pants twisted over it.

    But really – my Zak wants to see when his other friends were born so he can give them some presents!!!

  5. 7 brisa April 16, 2010 at 6:43 am

    I was surprised to see how many people have logged in fewer than me and still have more points! I don’t like it either, I don’t like ‘my number’ being exposed like that !

  6. 8 Kaffiene April 16, 2010 at 7:13 am

    It doesn’t bother me that much because none of my friends are addicted enough to look at my diary :/

    Random question, is there a way to save pictures of your pets WITHOUT publishing it to your news feed? I like to have a photo album because I spend a lot of time on my rooms and my pet’s outfits, but I don’t really want everyone to see them…

    • 9 Mödö April 16, 2010 at 7:54 am

      What I did is after approving the pic, quickly go to ur profile and delete the post. And then make a PS album separately and share it only with ur PS friends ( provided u hv already categorized ur friends).

      • 10 Pet Society Anonymous April 16, 2010 at 2:38 pm

        To make your Pet Society album (or any photo album) private, go to your Facebook page. Click “Account.” (Link is on top right). Then go to Privacy settings > Profile Information > Photo Albums > Edit Settings. From here, you’ll be able to control who can see your Pet Society album or any other album. You can get very specific by choosing “Custom” and selecting exactly who gets to see the pics.

  7. 11 Mödö April 16, 2010 at 7:50 am

    I dunt care actually, unless it is a 7 or 8 digits. HAHA XD
    Seriously, the amount of times I “visit” my pet is more then most people bcos I do it several times (each time I played ) just to get to the dirty pets. So the numbers dunt justify the REAL amount of time u play at PS. Its not like u like I’m visiting my Deedo every few hrs per day.
    I honestly dunt think a person is demean to a hopeless addict just bcos of some numbers. I multi-task ( I’m sure others do as well) once I get online- I watch vids, buzz the news, chk emails, chat on forums, update podcasts, post on FB AND play HC on safari & PS on Firefox ALL at the same time. I only spend abt 3-4hrs online each day.
    Plus we are all AAs!! HAHAHA Who cares!!!??

  8. 12 Edith April 16, 2010 at 8:25 am

    yeah i have such a higher number of logins then everyone else on my friends list ><
    i wish there was a way we could make aspects of the dairy private

  9. 13 sparkle April 16, 2010 at 8:45 am

    i don’t really care about it, although i was happy to see other pets’ birthdays!! and my number of visits are more. three thousand something!!!

  10. 14 Kimberly April 16, 2010 at 9:23 am

    heh, since August 2009 – 2144 .. Yikes.

  11. 15 Tutti A La Rutti Mustard April 16, 2010 at 10:07 am

    Great Article!

    I don’t like this new feature, I try not to look at the diary when it was private! If there is a tally of how many times I have logged on to play, it will give me more of a guilty conscience, when PS should be fun and relaxing!

  12. 16 Postopialucy April 16, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    I don’t know when I was born. I don’t remember. And I guess Pet Society does not remember either. 😦

  13. 17 Grace and her pet Bella April 16, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    I don’t think it’s a very big issue. So what if people know that you have played Pet Society 1418 times? It just shows how much you love you pet =D

  14. 18 NotFromMars April 16, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    I don’t mind, and I don’t think any of my friends do, but I think it should be optional.
    I like being able to see others though, it’s interesting!! X3

  15. 19 Vanessa April 16, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    my pet has made 740 visits and is born on 1 january,friday,2010 year

  16. 20 Rebecca April 16, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    i just wish they gave us the option to share it or not…we should be able to control our information!

  17. 21 al April 16, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    WHERE HAS THE LUXURY SHOP GONE

  18. 23 Mew's Owner April 16, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    I like being able to see other pets’ birthdays.

  19. 24 Luna April 16, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    Yes, the birthdays would be nice to see 🙂 Well ppl are going to be seeing how many times you are online? is that the new ways to see if you’re active?

  20. 25 Dani April 16, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Seeing birthday, male/female, and stat points is fine, but the end page should be kept secret. Well even the plants and cooking points would be fine. Just the gifts and log in… Makes me feel bad cause I haven’t sent many gifts, and I’ve logged in hundreds of times.>.>

  21. 26 Lisosaurus April 16, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    Personally, it doesn’t matter to me – I’m not ashamed of playing what I enjoy playing.
    Since July 7, 2009, I have visited my pet, Lemon, 941 times and only sent 64 gifts – and am only level 30! I have 157,872 recycle points and yet only 16 cooking points. I really think it isn’t that bad, unless you’re really embarrassed of playing Pet Society.

  22. 27 Gwen April 16, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    Ok…I think I officially beat everyone… I joined May 2009 and have visited my pet 4867 times…. :O

    • 28 ang April 20, 2010 at 4:09 am

      nope… ur’s works out to be 13 times a day ( roughly u joined a yr ago so let’s say 365 days) I joined a month ago and I’m almost at 800!! that’s 26 times a day 😦 but it’s cuz I do the offline trick ugh~~~~ it works like a charm and I get to save coins but it sure makes my stats look like crap!!

  23. 29 Deanna April 16, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    It’s rather pointless and it just doesn’t make a difference in our pet’s lives to know our PS pet friends stats. I was mortified as well but then felt 100x better when I saw my sister’s log in numbers to her pet, WOW! She has surpassed my pet in Paw Points (thanks to my brother in-law)so that was a relief and I became less mortified.

    I love the fact that you wanted to publish HIS diary…wanted to..I admire your lady-like demeanor so I applaud you!

    Deanna

  24. 30 lorelie April 16, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Sushi, you she be proud of the times youve logged in! It just shows how great a PS player you are! Rock on!

  25. 31 Leslie (pinkie) April 16, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    what I definitely would want kept secret is not how many times I log in, but instead how long I stay online playing … !

    • 32 Pet Society Anonymous April 17, 2010 at 3:19 am

      Right, thank goodness they are not showing exactly how much time we spend on this game.

      • 33 ang April 20, 2010 at 4:06 am

        the only way for me to “hide” my addiction is by not logging off and just keep playing on the next day 😛

        But u can’t see that changes that ur friends make…which sucks, but at least the game updates itself and after a while I reload to see what my friends are doing lol :P……………… I don’t know any other way around it.

  26. 34 Megami April 17, 2010 at 12:21 am

    I do care about this, because they make public the information without asking. I should have control over the people who reads MY information… I mean, no even my mom read my diary what gives other people the right to read Yavis Diary??

    Ok, granted, is not sensible information (thank god the did not added the “average session time”) but they should have asked. Is the propper thing to do.

    • 35 ang April 20, 2010 at 4:04 am

      lol ave session time!!! u know…the only benefit of exposing the diaries is that it is now forcing me to cut back the # of times I log in lol~ I guess it kinda discourages me to be too involved.

      I think it’s god’s way of saying, stop playing and start working!! still shocked that PS exposes this! It’s as if they don’t want us to be too addicted!!

  27. 36 zsath April 17, 2010 at 2:58 am

    this is much too embarrassing…. my addiction in pet soc will be a huge news all over the school…

  28. 38 Milkpedia April 17, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    My ”time logged” is 1409… 😐

  29. 39 Kim April 17, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    dont worry, my times logged in is 1556… and my pet is younger than yours O.o

  30. 40 ashes April 17, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Well, I think the log in stats & gifts sent should be kept private, but your pets gender, birthday, level and cooking level is fine to show. Those things are not automatically indicative of a ‘addict’ so should be fine to show to fellow players and are fun to see in my opinion.

  31. 41 pet accessories April 18, 2010 at 3:46 am

    I’m so in love with now being able to see other pet birthdays. How fun. I can’t help but login at least 10 times a day!

  32. 42 Julie Anne April 18, 2010 at 3:52 am

    I have 3544 visits hehe

    • 43 ang April 20, 2010 at 4:01 am

      really awesome!! how many per day are u?? mine’s 26 times a day 😦 but that’s cuz the offline gimmick that I tried and now I’m totally embarrassed that my friends can see it!

  33. 44 tyfusirainboebubble April 18, 2010 at 4:52 am

    Name: Juliet Gender:Female Level:Heroic Pet 30 Paw Points:69849 Cook Rank:Potato Peeler Cooking Points:16 Total Recycle points:13556 Plants grown:78 Gifts sent:35 Times Logged in:710.My Pets Info

  34. 45 burgerfood April 18, 2010 at 8:35 am

    i was wondering if you could put up a picture of a lamb petling.
    thanks 🙂

  35. 46 CatKitte April 18, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    Hey, I’m level 31 too, same as Sushi. but times i logged in just about 400. that’s weird….

  36. 47 TINA April 19, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    YOU GUYS ARE STUPID WHO CARES IT’S JUST A GAME

  37. 48 ALiza April 19, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Please don’t start the ECo competition. I tried for the past hour to post my image but it is not working.

  38. 49 Maya April 20, 2010 at 1:00 am

    I know a friend that has even more times than you. I should feel embarrased myself. I started in September and i’ve been on more than 800 times…

  39. 50 ang April 20, 2010 at 3:59 am

    mine works out to be an ave 26 times a day!! but that’s cuz I did a lot of offline tricks =__=”

  40. 51 midnight April 20, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    I guess most people are just paranoid and want to see how their pet is doing. LOL. My figure is embarassing. I’ve had like 1700+ hangouts and I’ve been playing since May 2, 2009. Also, I have been inactive from January – March so it kinda worries me. lol

  41. 52 kimi April 21, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    cool! now i can finally find out disco’s birth date! =)

  42. 53 Tabi April 23, 2010 at 9:44 am

    there should be an option if you want it veiwed or not….


  1. 1 Pet Society Open Diary Follow Up « Pet Society Anonymous Trackback on April 24, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Leave a Reply

Tell Your Story

Got a great Pet Society story of your own? Post story and images on facebook.com/petsocietyanonymous. The best stories will be posted on this blog!

Pet Society Anonymous on Facebook

Posts with the Mosts

Creative Commons License
Pet Society Anonymous by Soyon Im is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at petsocietyanonymous.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://petsocietyanonymous.com.

Blog Stats

  • 2,107,583 visits

