Are you a petling hoarder?

We’ve all heard of the Crazy Cat Lady with dozens of cats running around her house. Pet hoarding is a fairly common condition that makes for bizarre news stories. One of the worst cases involves a woman in D.C. who had 488 cats. (!) Sadly, many of them were dead and rotting in Rubbermaid containers. (!!!)

Thankfully, Pet Society poses a limit on the number of animals you can keep. As Tabitha, a petling lover has found, you can’t have more than 10. She sends in the images below of her pet Nala and her brood. I asked her why she has so many petlings, and she replied it was mostly due to curiosity about how each petling would turn out. “Initially, I just wanted to find a petling that looked like my pet,” she says.

Petlings can be expensive, and Tabitha says she spends more than 2500 coins a week to feed all her little ones. As you can see, none of them are begging for food, and they look happy in their spacious home. Blanche (#2) and Misty (#4) are her favorites, but she will probably get rid of the pink petlings (#7, #8) because she does not like pink animals. Tabitha is not a pet hoarder in real life. She has only two birds.

How about you? How many petlings do you have? Do you take good care of them?

petlings in pet society

32 Responses to “Are you a petling hoarder?”


  1. 1 Grace and her pet Bella April 11, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    I sort of feel embarrassed, I also have 10 petlings. They are so cute though I don’t have the heart to sell them =3

  2. 2 Tamago April 11, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    I have five petlings. I have no pets in real life. I keep thinking that maybe I should sell my one dog, and just keep the four cats, because it is easier just to keep catling foods in stock. My dogling keeps wanting the 100 coin bone to eat, but the catlingss are usually happy with strawberry milk or ebi sushi. But they are cute and fun and lively and coordinate with my furniture.

  3. 3 Rubix101 April 11, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    I have 4 Catlings, 2 Lionlings, & 2 Coyotelings. I originally had 5 Catlings but had to sell 2 because of the original limit (I’ve since bought a new one). I still regret selling them.

    I would consider myself a hoarder on Pet Society not just because of the Petlings =P . In real life however I only have a cat & a dwarf hamster. I think the Petlings keep the game interesting so I don’t mind paying an outrages amount to feed them. I’m planning on buying another Lionling & Coyoteling but who knows =P

  4. 4 LulU April 11, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Thanks Soyon for making a blog of my petlings, Nala and I ver much appreciate it and I’ll keep you in the loop if I get anymore soon.

    Thanks soo much,

    Tabitha & Nala ❤

  5. 5 Wemmie April 11, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    I have 6 (:
    Milo, Sebas & Bruna are cats, Hana is a dog, one coyote (loki) and a lion: Kiara(:
    They are one per room, and they match the decoration LOL

  6. 7 Julie Anne April 11, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    I have 10 petlings
    3 doglings
    -Max
    -Princess
    -Bruce
    3 catlings
    -Tabby
    -Bluey
    -Smokey
    2 tigerlings
    -Rajah
    -Odette
    2 lionlings
    -Mufasa
    -Scar
    I feed them when I can, but I tend to let them runaway so my friends can find them and earn the 200 coins!

  7. 8 Coco April 11, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    Ugh! I hate the limit! I wish I could have more when new species come out but I only have room for one more, what is the big deal anyways? I take care of them daily and if I can afford to feed them what’s the problem? I hope they lift the limit.

  8. 9 Kyra's mommy April 11, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    I only have one pink catling!!! i don’t like so much pink… but i love cookie so much!!!

  9. 10 Yuki April 11, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    I have three, all catlings, and I think that (unless they come out with a… panda or a bunny maybe) that’s all I’ll ever get. They were all genetically modified with color biscuits… ^o^

    1. Yumi, pink
    2. Ami, white
    3. Suki, light brown (which looks more like beige =P)

  10. 11 Grace and her pet Bella April 11, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    They should make a hamster petling =3

  11. 14 Robyn April 11, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    I used to have 5 (the original limit) but feeding them every day just got too annoying so I sold 4 of them. If a really cute new species came out I’d probably get more.

  12. 15 Rudy April 11, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    I had 3 petlings, 2 coyotes and a lion, but I decided that it was just way too expensive, so I sold one of the coyotes. I don’t know how one manages 10 pets!

  13. 16 Tami April 11, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    If you have several facebook aliases for pet society (like me) i have found that the more petlings you allow to get lost, the more coins you receive for “finding” them on the other account. 200 per pet, now that’s an awesome bonus!

  14. 17 tyfusi April 12, 2010 at 12:43 am

    can you have a contest for TWS clothes

  15. 18 Random Player April 12, 2010 at 1:05 am

    Lol i just have 2 petlings … and they run away xD i’m such a bad owner but when they are at home i feel guilty that the petlings eat even better than my pet xD

    ooh i want to see also a hamster petling 😀

  16. 19 Julie Anne April 12, 2010 at 4:36 am

    I want a pandaling!!!

  17. 20 Aliza April 12, 2010 at 6:16 am

    Didn’t get the chance to read this until tonight. Can’t believe that there is a crazy cat lady like that in real life. @.@”
    Never had a petling before. I was always scared that it would run away if I didn’t have time to play PS. This hasn’t been the case so far. Maybe I should buy one. 🙂

  18. 21 MommyLisa April 12, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    I had four – I had the Tiger and three cats, but I thought that was just one too many. I sold the Tiger to the zoo. The three cats are named after – and after a dye job look like – my three cats, two have passed to kitty heaven so it is nice to “see” them again.

  19. 22 Luna April 12, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    LOL! I have only 2! I love my Pie ❤ and Kora!
    Pie is the catling and Kora is a tigerling 🙂

  20. 23 Harry April 20, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    I have only 1 petling,called fire votex.He’s orange so it matches his name.I want there to be a baby kangaroo(a joey)petling!!!!!!!!!!

  21. 24 vinnie April 26, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    I used to have one coyote named Bruno (like my dog) then I have another named Silva. Probably because I have pets at home (a dog, now it’s dead, and a cat), but I don’t want to have too many pets. Less is loved more. And I feed them ASAP when they ask for food.
    I hate it when my friends leave their petlings asking for food though. They can do it for a month. I know how it feels to have pets and I will never let them starve.

  22. 25 Kat June 18, 2010 at 9:47 am

    Let me see I just sold two cats, and now I have 5 petlings: A pegasus, Fantasia who I simply must color soon; two blue-eyed cats — The Lavender is named Midnight; The Pink with white paws is Alia; and one golden-eyed cat Gabrielle who is white with light gray stripes along her tail; a tan lion named Iskierka who also has golden eyes.

  23. 26 peacecherry99 October 28, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    I have 2 petlings one a pretty white cat with yellow eyes (which i don’t mind) named Alicia and a bluey-grey lion also with yellow eyes called Leo. I adopted Leo first then got Alicia

  24. 27 peacecherry99 October 28, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    and yes, I do agree with you on your first post on petlings- they deserve to have PROPER names…before I named my cat Alicia I was thinking of calling her Ariadne after Theseus’s guide through the Labyrinth

  25. 28 Sarah February 3, 2011 at 2:45 am

    LOL i have a dog and cat…. a coyote, tiger, lion, leopard, lamb and my NEW PANDA i got yesterday… but i think its kinda ugly… it just costs so much i wont sell it

  26. 29 angie June 8, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    uuugghh I am such a petling hoarder even though i only have three pets its because i dont have money but when i do i will get a coyote, dog, cat, leopard, lion, and bunny. But i will try to sell my other dog

  27. 30 Jessie Dawson September 6, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    I have one dogling and one catling. My dogling, Alejandro is fully grown and my catling Monster is just a kitten. I bought Monster by mistake but that’s not the reason I named her Monster (: Once I just left her in the garden to run away but then I heard she ran away with my dear dogling Alejandro 😦 So I had to pay 400 coins to find him, and I brought Monster into the living room with Alejandro. Although can petlings become friends? Because Alejandro jumped on the small couch and then a few minuites later Monster jumped infront of him and then it seemed they liked eachother, caught a few photos of them together:)

  28. 31 angie September 8, 2011 at 2:27 am

    I don’t think petlings can like each other. But if they did that would be really cool. There would be a little ❤ so cute! But no I don't think they can like each other.

  29. 32 Crystal Saphhire December 7, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    I want 2 have 1 of each coin petling about 10 I don’t mind feeding them @ all.Keeping a one week’s stock is hard but I just put what the petling s like to eat on a shelf,logout then go 2 my other account and buy them off there.I get to keep the money.$$$


Leave a Reply

Tell Your Story

Got a great Pet Society story of your own? Post story and images on facebook.com/petsocietyanonymous. The best stories will be posted on this blog!

Pet Society Anonymous on Facebook

Posts with the Mosts

Creative Commons License
Pet Society Anonymous by Soyon Im is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at petsocietyanonymous.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://petsocietyanonymous.com.

Blog Stats

  • 2,107,583 visits

