Pet Society’s April Fool’s Joke

Ha ha, Playfish, you got me. I totally fell for your April Fool’s gag. I was so excited to see the new 3-D icon at the bottom of my screen that I started getting visions of Sushi as a 10-foot blue creature à là Avatar. I waited with anticipation as the game told me that it was filling my balloons with helium and making other updates to the interface. In the end, I was really disappointed to see that it was all a joke. It made me think of how “serious” gamers criticize the flatness and simplicity of Facebook games. It’s true that while Pet Society is adorable, the artwork isn’t as complex as say, Halo, and definitely not anywhere near 3-D. So for me, this joke was only a reminder of that difference.

14 Responses to “Pet Society’s April Fool’s Joke”


  1. 1 Meg claire April 2, 2010 at 2:10 am

    I think it’s neat. We need more fun “easter egg” type content like that. I love the loading messages. Saw 2 unreleased dolls in that thing, too!

  2. 2 Nicole April 2, 2010 at 2:13 am

    The loading messages reminded me a lot of the loading messages on The Sims/Sims 2 and Sims 3. Very funny, I knew it was a joke but I clicked it anyway!

  3. 3 Shelley April 2, 2010 at 2:15 am

    I haven’t see the 3-D icon

  4. 4 Tiffany April 2, 2010 at 2:15 am

    I just wanted to let you know that I have a new way of making money on Pet Society! I sell GMB’s since now almost every GMB is worth 999 gold coins, so I make 499 coins profit! I just wanted to let you know about this excellent and easy way of making gold coins.

  5. 5 Shelley April 2, 2010 at 2:18 am

    But the win or lose box is one perfect joke if it is released yesterday.
    Oh, and I have a correction. In the Pet society Diary, The gender that had been totally wrong since it’s first released, have become correct.

  6. 6 luciana April 2, 2010 at 2:25 am

    I kept clicking the button cause everytime they said different things, like “turning everything pink”, “rendering hideeni maps” and stuff hahahaha

  7. 7 Geo April 2, 2010 at 2:40 am

    It would be cool if pet society really went 3-D! You know, buy the goggles, login and play PS 3-D!

  8. 8 Geo April 2, 2010 at 2:42 am

    Oh yes, forgot to mention this. Pet Society is launching a MOVIE in summer, or spring. Im not so sure!

  9. 9 Laura April 2, 2010 at 3:37 am

    I thought it was funny. I was really excited to see my pet too in 3d, but afterwards i kinda thought, well if they did do something that awesome like 3d, i think they would of made an annoucement rather than just having an icon there.

    It was a lot funnier than my Tiki Resort april’s fools joke. they gave out this “awesome charm” that when you used it, it put garbage all over you entire island and you had to clean it all up! that was like 25 clicks! that sucked!

  10. 10 BEC April 2, 2010 at 3:51 am

    Loved the info as it was loading… too cute! Nice job, Ya’ll!

  11. 12 Rochelle April 2, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    I thought it was funny.

  12. 13 Rochelle April 2, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    Oh, and I love the simple graphics. I think they’re very attractive compared to some games.

  13. 14 Chris April 7, 2010 at 4:58 am

    lolollol, I see myself as rank 3. xD


Leave a Reply

Tell Your Story

Got a great Pet Society story of your own? Post story and images on facebook.com/petsocietyanonymous. The best stories will be posted on this blog!

Pet Society Anonymous on Facebook

Posts with the Mosts

Creative Commons License
Pet Society Anonymous by Soyon Im is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at petsocietyanonymous.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://petsocietyanonymous.com.

Blog Stats

  • 2,107,859 visits

