Players disgruntled by the new Pet Society

Not everyone is embracing the new changes in Pet Society. Judging from the many comments left on Facebook and on my last post, people seem to appreciate the improved camera and organized chests, but not the changes in game play.

Typical Complaints about the New Pet Society

I used to have a million paw points. Now I only have 4,000. What happened?

The official Pet Society blog explains it like this: “It may be a little confusing at first, but each level the paw points number goes back to zero and counts up to the amount needed to reach the next level. For example, if you were a Level 43 pet with 337,300 paw points previously, your pet will now show as a Level 43 pet with 5,300 paw points towards the next level (as 332,000 paw points were those required to reach Level 43).”

Um, yeah, that is confusing, especially since nobody knows how many points it takes to get to each level. We also can’t see the paw points of other pets. Some players say that this was a source of fun competition, to try to top friends’ points.

There are more flies now. I saw one pet with eight flies.
I’m not sure if eight is an exaggeration. My pet Sushi visited someone with five flies today. He got 80 coins for soaping him up, and 4 paw points. So cleaning is still a good source of income.

The brush is useless now. And there’s no happiness bar.
Here’s the official Pet Society comment: “Well, happiness no longer affects your game in any way, so feel free to brush your pet, but don’t be surprised when nothing much happens!”

I’m surprised that Playfish removed the happiness bar, especially when the company claims their games are about friendship, love, self-expression, blah, blah, blah. Isn’t happiness key to this feel-good social games experience?

You can’t see who’s active and inactive any more.
No, you can’t. But now, you get more coins for each visit, whether or not you were active. You get 35 coins for your first 50 visits each day, 20 coins for the next 25, and 15 coins thereafter.

My Secret Garden has gone all horrible!
Players have reported that their Secret Gardens and the Magic Room in their Tree Houses are now bigger, but the trees in their Secret Gardens are out of place. Hopefully, this is an easy thing for the company to fix.

As I said in my previous post, I personally like most of the new changes. But the game has never been about paw points for me. The thing I most appreciate about Pet Society is the visuals, and the tools the game gives us to create cute, comic scenes. So the cleaner layout, along with the improved camera make this aspect of the game even richer.

I still would like one more change: the ability for two pets to sit or lie down together on a chair or bed. That used to be possible, and it was incredibly cute. It was one of the reasons I started blogging about this game in the first place! Sadly, the pets can’t do this any more. Let us be together for crying out loud! What good is a 3000-coin Stella Bed if your only companion is a reindeer plushie?!

47 Responses to “Players disgruntled by the new Pet Society”


  1. 1 loveshepburn March 6, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    honestly, i think it looked like a mix of happy baby game(the chinese pet society copy), pet society and moshi monsters..

  2. 2 Pet Society Mystery March 6, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    tree house too….

  3. 3 Arvin March 6, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    The eight flies may be a glitch. Or it may be an exaggeration. But for the happiness level, well, if they removed the bar, shouldn’t they remove the brush?

  4. 4 Andro March 6, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    And the icon look like in restaurant city. And no shortcut icon again, no cooking icon, and the town is change…

    • 5 Lycrea March 7, 2010 at 3:05 am

      You can find the cooking icon by clicking the books tab beside the friends tab. When you click it, you can find the cookbook along with the sticker album and tutorial.

  5. 6 Malou March 6, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    So true!
    I wish there was a happiness bar.
    You know you can’t see other people’s trophies anymore either?
    Lamelamelame.

  6. 7 sparkle March 6, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    i have a question: how do you buy playfish cash? i tried using paymo and i had to send two messages to tell me after paying that an error occured!! there must be sth wrong. or is it like a scam or sth?

  7. 8 rosey March 6, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    honestly, i dont like the new look of the town. I used to love WALKING around town to get to shops and i know you can do this on friends street too, but it dosent feel the same. Besides, i feel likke im playing a lil kid game or something

    • 9 Foxie June 30, 2010 at 5:48 am

      I haven’t played the old pet society, but I saw people on youtube playing on it and walking around town. I would have loved to do that. T_T

  8. 10 rosey March 6, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    8 flies could be hack

  9. 11 Modonoko March 6, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    I started the game with only one sitting per pet, so I didn’t know u can hv both pets on larger seats.
    I would luv to see tat one day. =)

  10. 12 Jacel March 6, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    One reason I liked to know which friends had been active was to know to pay attention if there had been interesting changes to the pet’s home and clothing since the last visit. Seeing the Paw Point numbers of other players was a good way to tell who had been doing interesting things worth taking a look at.

    • 13 fuzzy March 7, 2010 at 3:16 am

      true, that’s my main aim everytime i log on to visit, i wanna see who’s been redecorating 😉

      its a bit of a bummer that they dont have a bar specially for active pets now.

  11. 14 Ferretbite March 6, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    I think there might be a bit of an overreaction to these changes, I like the new interface, it’s much cleaner, and far more agile to navigate and move around in…

  12. 15 Joeyjoeymc March 6, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    I do actually quite like the plus side of the now useless brushes- They’ve doubled the coins gained from washing pets, so it’s like brushing AND washing them but with half the time required. But now that the brushes ARE useless- whats the point in even having them anymore? I think they should be used for grooming petlings. Whether it makes them happier or makes them look better, or even allows them to perform better in petling contests *hint hint*, everyone’d be happy if the brushes did something.

    And I know this is only small and most people probably havent noticed it- but whats with the sheep on the new town map? Whilst all the other animals in the game (excluding petlings) get to walk on two feet and wear clothes and eat proper food and live in big, luxurious houses, those poor sheep have to live outside, in a muddy field, away from the town, eating grass and with only their wool to keep them warm. Poor things.

    Oh yeah, and I spent roughly ten minutes attempting to find the trophies tab. It’s on the tutorial tab for those of you who were wondering, instead of in plain view on the side of the screen.

  13. 19 Leslie (pinkie) March 6, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    I am okay with most of the changes, especially the more organized chest, but I don’t like the outside area of the town anymore … it looks childish, and even though I’m playing a kids’ game, I dont wanna feel like I am!

    And I miss the shortcuts to the stores.

    But all in all, I guess I’ll get used to it.

    • 20 Joshua March 9, 2010 at 12:28 pm

      I agree! I was used to the shortcuts on the bottom-left screen but now i always have to get out and memorize the shop’s new location.

  14. 21 Greena/Ulrika March 6, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    I really miss the shortcuts to the stores!! I also miss (or is it that I can’t find??) the Visits button, which made it possible to keep track on who you had visited that day,so as not to “double visit” w/o earning any coins…

  15. 25 Lychee March 6, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    Likes: Cute interface, organized chest, the 3000 coins

    Dislikes: No shortcut for shops and home, can’t see friends’ paw points, no cleanliness or happiness bar, brushes are now useless, change of paw points, no double arrow in shops, point system is too vague, the glitch that occurs when you change from full screen to normal screen, the brush sounds like the soap, furniture seemingly can only be seen in the all items tab, where the hell did the button go where you could publish your thoughts on your wall, level of cleanliness is now measured by ugly flies, no active friends, there’s probably another billion things wrong with Pet Society but these are the worst.

    Pet Society doesn’t have a clue what it’s players want. I used to love playing it so much until they took out all the useful stuff and made it a nightmare to play. Very disappointed.

  16. 26 Lala March 7, 2010 at 12:28 am

    Every time I visited a COMPLETE dirty pet (without having to visit them before) I got a maximum of 150 coins.
    Now, every time i visit the same pet (without having to visit them before) i get 130 coins. 20 coins is not much, but it can make a BIG difference.

  17. 27 Valerie March 7, 2010 at 2:20 am

    Personally, I like the new make-over. Make one of those ‘Vote’ things that you do and we’ll all vote on it. It runs OK on my system. Havn’t discovered any glitches so far.

  18. 28 fuzzy March 7, 2010 at 3:12 am

    1) no shortcut to home D:
    which sucks for me, cos (a) i play on an 8-inch screen and (b) i dont use a mouse. which means its really tedious to get from anywhere to home.

    2) OMG so many flies! i had at least 5 on mine, it might have been more, cos i dont get the chance to go on everyday. ITS SO DISGUSTING! and last night i scrubbed it clean, but a new fly came in like… 20min later! omg, how often do we need to clean our pets now?!

  19. 29 Ever42 March 7, 2010 at 3:18 am

    I certainly do hate the fact that we can’t walk into town anymore. I used to have so much fun taking pictures of my pet with a new jacket and my friend’s pet right next to the clothing store and letting all of my friends comment on the cuteness or the awkwardness or whatever. Now, all there is is empty streets/ many buildings, mostly empty, with trees. Lotsa trees. HELLO? This is a SOCIAL game! You compete (paw points), you socialize (streets) and you have fun together (commenting on photos). Now, I can barely figure out how the camera works! I certainly do feel sorry for those poor sheepies. The furniture is not showing in its tab, and the flies are hurting my eyes. And why the heck do we need a useless brush in our chest pulling our space?! Basically, they said “We do not need happiness!” Apparently, they forgot that we are supposed to ENJOY games. Woo.Hoo(sarcasm)~. Yea, I’m an angry player when mad. It now takes me forever to do normal things that used to take my half an hour thanks to shortcuts. My friends and I are not happy, and we’ll march to San Fransisco and protest if we have to!

  20. 30 steffi-san March 7, 2010 at 4:21 am

    I like most of the game changes too. They may have taken away some, but they added as well.

    “…nobody knows how many points it takes to get to each level. We also can’t see the paw points of other pets. Some players say that this was a source of fun competition, to try to top friends’ points.”

    I agree with you and other players with this part. It was fun competing with friends. And it gets confusing now that I don’t know my total paw points.

    “There are more flies now. I saw one pet with eight flies.
    I’m not sure if eight is an exaggeration. My pet Sushi visited someone with five flies today. He got 80 coins for soaping him up, and 4 paw points. So cleaning is still a good source of income.”

    The maximum is 5 flies, so 8 was an exaggeration. Maybe the 5 were just flying around, hehe. With cleaning, 80 coins and 4 paw points are the maximum per pet.

    “The brush is useless now. And there’s no happiness bar.”

    I’m puzzled about the brush as well. But as Pet Society doubled the income with cleaning (from 10 coins to 20 coins now), I’m not complaining.

    “You can’t see who’s active and inactive any more.”

    Yes you still can. 🙂 In the lower bar where your neighbors are listed, active pets have open eyes and the inactive pets have shut eyes, as if they are asleep.

    I was one of those really angry with Playfish. For one, my account was inaccessible for 4 days before the update. A number of us were affected this way. To add insult to injury, just before I was frozen, I attempted to buy 36 cash coins and while my money was taken, I didn’t get the cash coins. I complained about it in the Facebook forum and one of their support persons helped me within a day.

    She bumped my support request, and I got my account back. Then she added me to her friendslist and gave me a bunch of cash shop items that I wanted to purchase — worth triple of the 36 cash coins I lost. I was so overwhelmed. I guess Playfish does pull through… just give them a little time. 🙂

  21. 31 Justin Romero March 7, 2010 at 8:49 am

    You can see who is on. If they are standing erect and their eyes are open, then that means they are online.

  22. 32 Ivy March 7, 2010 at 10:55 am

    Hey, sorry this has nothing to do with the things people are commenting right now… But…
    Has anyone caught the emerald fish yet? I’ve spent like over 500 coins to catch it…

    • 33 Gammy Sue April 14, 2010 at 9:27 pm

      I caught the Emerald fish with a watermelon while trying to get a watermelon fish. But I have not caught a “special” non-playfish cash fish since. Very very disappointing. No matter what regular bait I use from Cafe or food shop, I get same old fish I already have hundreds of, or trash. I would love a sea horse, an ice fish, etc.

  23. 34 Alice March 7, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    This is strange, I can see if my friends are active or not :/

  24. 35 Celeste March 7, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    I found another tree glitch. I was picking a cherry off my tree and I accidentally missed the cherry and clicked the tree. I did not get a message saying, “Do you want to get rid of this tree,” though. So, I clicked on it again, only to find out that I could move my tree up and down! I’m afraid my tree won’t bare anymore fruit, now.

      • 37 Joeyjoeymc March 8, 2010 at 5:49 pm

        Don’t worry, Celeste, this is normal. Your tree will still bear fruit. the new update brought an improved tree feature- If you pull the tree upwards out of the ground and to it’s highest point, you will get the removal message, instead of just clicking on the tree. Hope this helped 😉

  25. 38 Sarah March 7, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Everyone who has reached level 47, the top level, has 2,147,483,647 Paw Points. (According to my non-scientific survey) I guess we’re that close to the non-existent level 48.

  26. 39 Jacel March 7, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Even if you don’t score any points, the brush could be nice to have if it produced the old deep purring reaction from the pets during brushing. But when I’ve tried brushing a pet since the change, the brush makes the same scrubbing sounds that the soap does, and the pet doesn’t respond in the delightful old way.

  27. 40 Tami March 7, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    It looks fugly. and appropriate for kids….especially the new “map” which makes it look like candyland. >_<

  28. 41 Akiko March 9, 2010 at 8:25 am

    i dont really like how on the shops theres no “fast scroll” button.

    and the map is lame, i keep missing to check the garden store on the map cause it like blends in :/ its cool, but annoying. *sigh* probably something ill get used to 🙂

  29. 43 Julie P March 13, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    if there’s no clean meter, does that mean they don’t poop anymore? My son is going to be VERY disappointed about that.

  30. 44 Julie P March 13, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    hahaha! just realized I read it WRONG. there’s no happy meter, my bad.

  31. 45 safa June 5, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    i have pet socity but it not opening


  1. 1 Pet Society Mouse Trackback on March 12, 2010 at 12:25 pm
  2. 2 Review of Pet Society Bonsai Trees « Pet Society Anonymous Trackback on March 22, 2010 at 1:41 am

Leave a Reply

Tell Your Story

Got a great Pet Society story of your own? Post story and images on facebook.com/petsocietyanonymous. The best stories will be posted on this blog!

Pet Society Anonymous on Facebook

Creative Commons License
Pet Society Anonymous by Soyon Im is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at petsocietyanonymous.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://petsocietyanonymous.com.

Blog Stats

  • 2,107,477 visits

