Cooking in Pet Society

Top Chefs, are you ready? Log in to Pet Society and you’ll find a new menu icon on the bottom of your screen. Click on it, and a large cookbook with instructions will open.


 

You also now have a new oven in your chest. I put mine on top of the kitchen counter.

 

I tried cooking the vegetable soup, which took 10 minutes. You have to check back in time, otherwise, the soup might burn. You won’t be penalized for checking earlier, but you shouldn’t wait past the allotted time.

 
You can either sell the soup for a 1 coin profit or you can scarf it down like my pet:

I like that this is a new feature in Pet Society. The designers at Playfish are sure working hard to keep the game fun and rich. But one critique is that when I first saw that we could cook, I envisioned my little Sushi as an Iron Chef, stirring things in a pot, flipping things in a pan, boiling water with steam rising to the ceiling. In other words, COOKING.

But here, you just click, click, click and wait for the food to be ready. You don’t even have to shop for ingredients. Oh well. At least I was able to sell my non-functioning stainless steel microwave for 399 coins. My pet is now “cooking” the King Burger, which won’t be done for another day. Wow, that’s gotta be some huge burger!

Update – Dec 12, 2009 – My King Burger just came out of the oven. It’s huuuuge! See the picture.

26 Responses to “Cooking in Pet Society”


  1. 1 Deanna December 11, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    Jossie is not too thrilled about baking in her kitchen and if you’ve ever visited her and happened by her kitchen…you’ll see that she really doesn’t have anything to eat in there. All the food she has in her shelf have been gifted to her (Sushi included) and I’m not about to feed them to her.

    She got really snappy at me when I placed the stove on her counter and demanded that I remove it at once.

    Jossie: “So it’s not enough that I have to run around like a lunatic under those dang trees, now you want me to start baking?? You must be nuts lady!”

    Deanna: “It’ll be fun Jossie. We can make lot’s of tasty treats!”

    Jossie: “Didn’t you read what Soyon just wrote? I do all the hard work and you get to sell my blood, sweat and tears for a measly coin!”

    Deanna: “Why are you always so negative?”

    Jossie: “Why don’t I just make a poo and you can sell that for a coin?”

    Deanna: “Tell me again why I love you….?”

  2. 3 anonymous December 11, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    You do have to shop for ingredients.

    • 4 Pet Society Anonymous December 11, 2009 at 8:04 pm

      How do you shop for ingredients? All I did was click on the green “Cook” button under Vegetable Soup and presto, the soup was in the oven. I didn’t have to go to a store and shop for any carrots, celery and other veggies.

      • 5 Flory December 11, 2009 at 8:13 pm

        Maybe you have the ingredients in your chest, that’s why you cooked it.

        • 6 Pet Society Anonymous December 11, 2009 at 8:19 pm

          No I didn’t have the ingredients. If you look at the first picture above of the cookbook, you can see that it says “Click cook to buy any missing ingredients and get cooking!” So clicking the button is the shopping experience. I suppose that if you did have the carrot, celery and onion (which are shaded out in the book), then the soup would have cost you nothing at the point of clicking.

  3. 8 Flory December 11, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Where can I buy the ketchup and mustard??? I’ve been looking at the food place, but i can’t find it. Help please.

  4. 10 brisa December 11, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    LOL @ Deanna!

    This is cool, I was actually going to suggest something like this in your previous post about suggestions for improvements!! 🙂

  5. 11 Logan December 11, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    When you click cook, it auto buys them for you. That whats the 17 is for. I’m really unimpressed with the profit amounts. I’m waiting 2 hours on whatever was after the veggie soup. The profit is only 9! I could bump trees for 1 min to make that much. I suppose their focus is on getting food not in stores, but I was hoping there would be a larger emphasis on cooking as a way to make more coins… like gardening was.

  6. 12 Fox December 11, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    dont whine about the coin profits, i am sure once you get to a high cooking levle you will be able to make a high profit of cooking the more rare dishes like the cheesey mayor, even a 100 coin profit would be nice!

  7. 15 RubyBlight December 11, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    It had always disappointed me that the kitchen items weren’t functional, so seeing this made me really happy. Rico’s first batch of vegetable soup was worth eighteen coins, but I had to let him taste the first thing he cooked. I do agree that the meals made should be worth a bit more, but this is still a big improvement. I have to ask though…did anybody else’s pet just devour the hot soup? I expected Rico to blow on it first. I guess I shouldn’t have been too surprised; he’s always been kind of a bottomless pit.

  8. 17 ever42 December 12, 2009 at 12:21 am

    So they did take my idea! I actually gave my first soup to a friend who wasn’t so good at cooking. And I’m sure that PSA is right and that the cooking times are related to the profit.

  9. 18 cool cool December 12, 2009 at 3:44 am

    hooray!! thanks for the information 🙂

  10. 19 Zenny & Jeany December 12, 2009 at 7:35 am

    hey, pet society cooking was in my pet society wishlist a day before this happened! Wow! Check out my blog, http://lifeinpetsociety.wordpress.com/ and you’ll find the wishlist.

  11. 20 Andro December 12, 2009 at 11:12 am

    I cook the vegetable soup, giant hotdog, and king burger. The last menu is cheesy mayor (HAHAHA)

  12. 21 ak December 13, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    what and where can i get the ingredeints for the king burger?
    i only got the meat…
    i bought 2 loafs of bread but still nothing?
    and wot is the second thing?

  13. 23 copogirl December 14, 2009 at 6:35 am

    my first try : vegetable soup-Burned
    my second try : vegetable soup-success

  14. 24 Coconut December 14, 2009 at 7:14 am

    I made a king burger, and I was so excited for it to come out, but it didn’t. It didn’t appear in my chest, I didn’t eat it or anything. Any help?? 😦

  15. 25 flor December 23, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    komo puedo desbloquear la demas komida ya e komprado varias kosas d los alimentos i nada voy en lo d la piña, no se komo se desbloque el d los hotcakes y pues m falta d la piña en delante i los ultimos 3 k salieron
    plissss k alguien m digaa


  1. 1 The King Burger in Pet Society « Pet Society Anonymous Trackback on December 12, 2009 at 8:43 pm

Leave a Reply

Tell Your Story

Got a great Pet Society story of your own? Post story and images on facebook.com/petsocietyanonymous. The best stories will be posted on this blog!

Pet Society Anonymous on Facebook

Posts with the Mosts

Creative Commons License
Pet Society Anonymous by Soyon Im is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at petsocietyanonymous.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://petsocietyanonymous.com.

Blog Stats

  • 2,107,583 visits

