How Much Money Do You Spend in Pet Society?

playfishcash

Virtual goods is big bu$iness. According to an industry report, Playfish is expected to earn $30 million this year from their games. Ca-ching! Ca-ching! Quite impressive during a global recession.

Many people are boggled by the idea of paying for virtual goods. “Pet Society isn’t real,” is a typical argument. Well, neither are movies. Yet, we routinely pay anywhere from $3.99 for a DVD rental to $10 at the cinema to watch make-believe stories that are usually predictable. People pay for fantasy and entertainment. It is nothing new.

A friend of mine, Luxe, does purchase Playfish cash regularly. However, she suspects that people who are active in the forums and blogs are not spending real money on Pet Society. If they get cash goods, such as the Halloween Fish Biscuit, they do it through trading. Is this true? Let us know.

Finally, if you’re wondering if it’s worth filling out those annoying surveys for free Playfish coins, contributing blogger Kavya did a story a few months ago on that very topic. We recommend the car insurance survey as we’ve both had success with that one.

29 Responses to “How Much Money Do You Spend in Pet Society?”


  1. 1 Brisa October 23, 2009 at 5:01 am

    i’m not gonna lie… I bought playfish cash twice and I’ve been playing for almost 1 year. Both times I bought the least amount, $4.99 I believe. I’m so ashamed. hahahaha, and I want more!!!! Darn cash shop is evil!!

  2. 2 i'am never play with playfish cash October 23, 2009 at 5:15 am

    i NEVER bought anything with my REAL money.so please dont say anything about playfish cash on pet society!! stop!!

  3. 3 orsi79 October 23, 2009 at 10:32 am

    😦 too bad that these surveys are not available outside the states and Canada… from Hungary I can’t reach them…

  4. 5 Nikkia white-ganther October 23, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    I spend about 10.00 a month on my pet. But this week I lost my mind and spent 20.00 because I wanted them fish and fishing gear! 😦

  5. 6 Bubbles October 23, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    In the past 6 months I have spent a total of $40 on Pet Society. I can understand people not wanting to spend real money aferall the stuff we buy isn’t really real. However, I see it more as an entertainment cost. Compare to Xbox, this is alot cheaper. I also don’t mind supporting the Playfish folks once in a while so they can continue to provide us with more goodies to play with. Think of it this way, we all like to download music for free. (Yes, you’ve done it, don’t deny it.) But once it while, it good to buy the CD and encourage those artists we love to produce more music. We all like to be rewarded for the hard work we do.
    I have also tried out some online service like Netflix and Kodak Gallery. I was planning on signing up anyway, might as well get cash coins in the process. Word of advice, don’t fill out the survey by Target. I did that once and ended up with tons of spam and telemarketer calling me.

    • 7 Pet Society Anonymous October 23, 2009 at 8:28 pm

      I agree with you that Playfish employees deserve to be paid for the work they do. If no one spent money on the game, they’d go out of business and then there would be no more Pet Society. 😦

      The poll is simply to get a sense of what percentage of players actually pay.

  6. 8 MisterSeebhaa October 23, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    i only spend US$1 not very often on my pet, i use the paymo method, it’s cheap and use only my cellphone ;D
    i’m going to buy Playfish Cash because I win some money on my cellphone and i buy 10 or 15 playfish cash 😀

  7. 9 BiteMeVampire (Bella on PS) October 23, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    Do our pet’s sneeze?
    The other day my pet kept rubbing her nose, at first I thought she had fleas or something, then I pictured her letting out a big “ACHOO!” it didn’t happen. Why do our pet’s do that?

    – Grace
    A.K.A Bella

  8. 10 Jessica October 23, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    I buy playfish cash every month…the first time I felt so ashamed. This is how I rationalize it: I am so addicted to shopping. Its horrible! I can go to Target and spend $300-$400 each time. Instead I allow myself up to $24 per month in Pet Society. My need to shop is satisfied and I’ve saved my budget for the month 🙂 Yes its horrible but its allowed me to have a growing savings account in the real world.

    • 11 Pet Society Anonymous October 24, 2009 at 12:46 am

      That’s very interesting that PS helps you save money. One of my friends also says that buying virtual goods has satisfied her spending urges too.

    • 12 haradanam October 24, 2009 at 2:46 am

      I guess it makes more sense (financially) since u can buy more ‘items’ in PS than in Target.

      I myself agree with bubbles since it feels that Playfish have been doing a good job. Millions of players need good servers, hence high cost. In regard to the title, I had only spent 40 usd. Yes, only.lol.. Actually I wanted to buy the motorcycle in cash shop which was “last week in store” and I tried numerous times to pay 5 usd with paypal. After errors, I whimsically clicked ‘buy 39.99 usd’ and voila, I got hundreds of blue coin.

  9. 13 Pipsqueak October 24, 2009 at 5:04 am

    Instead of completing a survey, does anybody else use the second ‘free’ option to earn playfish by using or buying a sponsored product?

    By fluke, one of my online purchases was affiliated with Playfish. Bonus was 80 playfish cash for real money I was already prepared to spend. However, I don’t see either of the store I also considered listed anymore (Borders & the Gap).

    (Love the blog!)

  10. 14 ericnorthmanswife October 24, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    i dont spend real money since i dont have a credit card. all i do is trade. since most of the credit card holders want 4999 items and rares. if you can find a nice friend who would trade with you but you can still bargain, then you are lucky! hehehe

  11. 15 ericnorthmanswife October 24, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    anyways i tried those surveys and still got no playfish money with it. i decided to just trade and im happy my trading partner is very approachable.

  12. 16 valeriamontoyaaidz November 13, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    Facebook Playfish Pet Society bots and cheats are Released !

    Download it on

    http://www.facebookcheatbot.com

  13. 17 swarlock November 15, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Mom and I just had an argument about this a little while ago but it wasn’t just buying the card it was for everything else.

    Given that the Economy isn’t going to get bette and all that. I would hope that these surveys at least deliver on the goods rather than use the victims for Marketing target practice.

  14. 20 addicted to pet society before March 31, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    i spend 100 bucks! per month, sometimes more than that! but now never! i swear!i quit playing Pet society! i hate Playfish so much now! they ruin my credit card!

  15. 21 petsocietyanonymous April 11, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    i am another petsocietyanonymous from a different blog i never put anything bad about pet society because well its an online game wat cud be so bad about it and if your complaining about your credit card its your fault your the one who bought the playfish cash

  16. 22 Ranii.Kat April 12, 2010 at 6:38 am

    hey psa… i have a question…. how can u transfer pf to ur other account. pls answer

  17. 23 jassie May 15, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    i spend £330 a week on pet society cos ive got 9 phones i top up loads of playfish cash a day but wat i realy want to know is it worth it.
    ps im not a rich spoilt brat

  18. 26 jessie May 15, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    omg ur on it right now aint u im come roound mine ill open mi window u can climb in

  19. 27 emily May 15, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    kk see u in a min ps this is like facebook


  1. 1 PlaySpan se asocia con PayPal | Tecnolives Trackback on November 5, 2009 at 1:46 pm
  2. 2 Playfish Cash Cards at Walgreens « Pet Society Anonymous Trackback on November 6, 2009 at 8:53 am

Leave a Reply

Tell Your Story

Got a great Pet Society story of your own? Post story and images on facebook.com/petsocietyanonymous. The best stories will be posted on this blog!

Pet Society Anonymous on Facebook

Creative Commons License
Pet Society Anonymous by Soyon Im is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at petsocietyanonymous.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://petsocietyanonymous.com.

Blog Stats

  • 2,107,709 visits

